top of page

The Heart's Trapeze

orchestra (picc, 2 fl, 2 ob, Eng hn, 2 cl, bass cl, 2 bn, cbn/4 hn, 3 tpt, t tbn, bass tbn, tba/timp, 3 pc/cel/harp/strings)



So, this piece packs a wallop--especially for its first eight minutes. It's a soaring tone-poem, based on a a passage from Rilke's Duino Elegies.  The Czech Radio Symphony gets a fine and glorious sound, and there's a wonderful sense of bigness and excitement about this work, as well as some gorgeous stuff at the end. Available at et al., it can be yours to own. (Click the picture to purchase.)


"...earnest, undeniably accomplished writing..."

Fanfare Magazine, Nov/Dec 2002

Heart's Trapeze (excerpt 1)Czech Radio Symphony (V. Valek, cond.)
Heart's Trapeze (excerpt 2)Czech Radio Symphony (V. Valek, cond.)
bottom of page